Communication between Uno board and sealing device

Dear reader,

First of all I would like to clarify that I'm pretty new to arduino and that I don't really have that much experience with electronics and their way of communication. I know that my laptop and the arduino board can communicate with each other by opening the serial monitor and using the serial.print() commands. However for a current project I was wondering if it's possible to have the arduino communicate and send ASCII commands to another device without the serial monitor.

This device is a sealing device of which i don't have the specs. When connecting it to my laptop directly using USB i can send commands using the serial monitor of arduino or other serial terminal programs. But since i don't want to have my laptop connected to it the whole time, i was thinking of using my uno board to send the commands instead. But when i connect my board (with external battery) to the sealer using the USB port I can't make it communicate with the sealer and it doesn't seem to react to the uno board. The TX led doesn't blink either when using serial.print(). I had to use a Female USB A to Male USB B Adapter to connect them, but I don't know if this is allowed.

The code I've been using is the following. I intended to send the command, which i normally do using the serial monitor, by using the serial.print() function as soon as a button was pressed, hence the input on pin 2.

int switchState = 0;
int valuex = 0;
int gelezen = 0;
char chrValue = 119;

void setup() {
 Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(2,INPUT);
}

void loop() {
  switchState = digitalRead(2);
if(switchState == HIGH){
  valuex = valuex+1;
  digitalWrite(3,HIGH);
}
else{
  valuex = 0;
  gelezen = 0;
 digitalWrite(3,LOW);
  }

if(valuex>0 && gelezen==0)
{Serial.write(chrValue);
gelezen = gelezen+1;
}
delay(100);
}