Standard Documentation Templates

I'm a hobbyist, and even that is probably giving myself a little more credit than I deserve, so that's where this is coming from.

I got in to mcu development when it was still significantly more expensive to buy Arduino boards and the like than to build out from the mcu, so I learned the way a lot of people did, by reading datasheets for the different ics that I wanted to use. In the beginning, that was information overload. I remember feeling like I was way out of my league looking through all the specs and pages and pages of other data that I didn't understand all (or much) of. However, I did finally learn what parts mattered, and I got better at using them. Once I did, it was rare to not have the information that I needed to work out how to get things going.

Fast forward to 2017, and Arduino boards, and modules of all sorts, are cheaper than the bare components to get something like an ATMega minimal system setup, and the amount of information available for the more common components is amazing.

The problem that I'm seeing is that the information isn't standardized in any way. I keep finding myself reverse engineering some of the very common libraries and it's taking longer than it would take to go to datasheets and build out. One example is libraries that do pin assignments in the library files and then not documenting what those "default" pins are, or how to assign other pins. I've ended up digging through the library files to find that stuff far too often, and I don't think a lot of beginners are going to be able to do that.

I do realize that it isn't possible to control community created content. However, I think it would be a great start to implement a documentation template that would include all of the information that a complete beginner would need to get examples running.