Hosting of a little website with jquery mobile elements

Hi guys,

I'm rather new to the arduino stuff and I need to setup a "little" website that contains various jquery mobile elements like buttons, sliders etc. Is it possible to host such a website with an arduino mega and an ethernet shield (with sd card) or do I need something more powerful like a cortex m3 for that kind of problem?

If yes, is it possible to evaluate and to store the state of the buttons for microcontroller-usage?

Thank you so much for any helpful comments!
Regards!

Try this tutorial:

http://www.ladyada.net/learn/arduino/ethfiles.html

Hi,

thank you for your answer. Has anybody ever tried to run a jquery mobile website off an arduino?

Can you tell me how it would be possible to save the button-states (the butttons/switches on the html-page) to the arduino to process them further?

Regards!

From a webserver point of view a jquery website is the same as a standard HTML website. The webserver delivers files, they may be static or generated on the fly.

Usually an Arduino webserver is just handling a control website for a specific purpose like measuring temperature, humidity or pressure and maybe reacting on that or on a web command to control physical devices like water pumps, lights or the like. It's much underpowered for delivering pages to the public or sites with lots of graphical files. If you need that use a standard webserver to deliver the content and get the commands. From that web server send just the commands to the Arduino or get sensor values from it.

The later solution is also better suited if you wanna do a lot of AJAX stuff on you site because the reaction time of the Arduino may be not what you're used to if you're familiar with standard web servers (on big Intel based machines).

Thanks for your answers so far!