Help for my shaking quadruped robot

Hi, this is my first post in this forum.

First, sorry for my english. =(

I'm new to microcontrollers or electronics. In fact, this is my first microcontroller project.
I had made a quadruped robot with 12x HXT900 servo (3 DOF per leg). I use atmega328 with arduino bootloader. The problem is the servos are jitter too much. I already have research that most conclude that the problem is on the cheap servos (HXT900). Is that true? Is there any solution without replace the servos?
Please tell me if you need more information about this robot to help me. Here is my robot video :

Thanks before for your help.. :slight_smile:

At least it seems to work!
It looks like the input-readings are distorted.
Check the sketch for unused (but defined as input) pins and make them outputs or attach a pullup resistor on the inputs.

But don't expect too much:
the Arduino has only 256 different PWM steps per channel. A servo only 'understands' PWM signals from lets say 20% to 80% duty cycle ( wild guesssing here )
Both facts limit accuracy on the electronics side. Add mechanical inaccury and you see a trembling robot.

Probably a bit smoothing/averaging of the input-signals make it calm down, but at the same time it gets slower.

Never used a servo (yet), but if I remember correctly they shouldn't be controlled by pwm pins. This library has to (should) be used:

Can you post your code ?

I would advice to use simplot http://www.negtronics.com/simplot (or something similar) to look at the values you are sending to the servo's.
At least then you know whether the problem is in your code or in the electronics/mechanics.
If you have a scope you can also read the signals send to the servo's. I would also check the voltage. I would not be surprised you have voltage spikes because you have 12 servo's.
Best regards
Jantje

o_lampe:
It looks like the input-readings are distorted.