Nextion Page Number to Arduino Mega

I have recently bought a Nextion Enhanced 3.5" display and have been doing some initial testing/learning ready for starting a project.

I am not an experienced programmer but manage to fumble my way through but this issue has cost me 2 days with no results! I have read just about every web page I can find on the topic and have run around in circles.

I have 3 pages in Nextion (attached) and I want to send the current page number to Arduino. My project Arduino code will be controlled by the Nextion page that is displaying (the Nextion can change pages independently of the Arduino hence the need for Arduino to know what page is displaying).

I have followed example in the standard Nextion library (GitHub - itead/ITEADLIB_Arduino_Nextion - CompPage_v0_32.ino).

I have both a push and a pop event attached to page 0 that upon operating causes the variable CurrentPage to change to the page number i.e. 0. This then prints in the debugger. As a further visual prompt I have tried to change the text in Select1.txt_Stage1 to something.

As it stands neither the CurrentPage variable is changing nor the text box updating.

I have tried changing the Nextion preinitialisation event to "sendme" or to "printh 66 01 FF FF FF" but neither is recognised. I also tried checking the "Send Component ID" in the Touch Press/Release events. I have been very thorough in trying things before reverting to here...

#include  "Nextion.h"

int CurrentPage = 9;  // Create a variable to store which page is currently loaded

// declare 1 text box on each page for testing purposes
NexText txt_stage1 = NexText(0, 2, "txt_stage1");
NexText txt_stage11 = NexText(1, 2, "txt_stage11");
NexText txt_StageSel = NexText(2, 2, "txt_StageSel");

// Declare pages:
NexPage Select1 = NexPage(0, 0, "Select1");  // Page added as a touch event ** this nexpage uses the actual page name as I wanted to see if that made a difference