Bluetooth Controlled Model Train - Beginner

Hello Everyone.

I am new to Arduino products but would like to use them for a project i have.

I am into model railways and would like to create a bluetooth control for one of my trains. Please could you give me some guidance on what to and the feasibility of this project and what to buy. Details are below.

1. The rails a powered to 12V DC. I plan to use this to power the train, module and controller.
  2. Train has one motor. This needs to be controlled via bluetooth.
  3. I would like to have the option to control the train headlights which are LED's. Is this possible?
  4. I would like to control the train from my Android phone.

Any help is much appreciated. Thanks in advance. :slight_smile:

I am controlling battery powered N Gauge model trains with 2.4Ghz wireless using these devices

I have written about it here Very Small Arduino with 2.4Ghz wireless transceiver and motor bridge - DelTino - Microcontrollers - Arduino Forum. Please bear in mind that that post was written for an older version of the Deltino transceiver and a few small changes are needed for the current version.

You will also find a lot of useful information here R.C. The Future Now If You Desire - Model Railroad Forums - Freerails

A great deal of the information is applicable to rail-powered as well as battery powered trains.

...R

Hi,

Am a newbie in the Arduino world.

Have a similar project to run a model train loco from Arduino Nano placed on/ within the loco. Would want to control it via Bluetooth.

Is this possible.

Problems I foresee are
1 Power supply for the board. Size and weight both, if a separate power supply is used.

2 If track power is used, will there be any additional elements​ needed ?

Thanks in advance.

What size model trains are you using?

The only problem with track power is that the Arduino will reset if there is even a very short disconnection.