12V on digital input pins?

May be stupid to ask, I'm a beginner when it comes to micro controllers, could not find a definitive answer, all infos I found about this don't seem to be absolutely clear to me: can I feed digital inputs with +12V (regulated) as "high" signal on Arduino Mega 2560? I am intending to integrate additional functions by using an Arduino into my existing electronic circuits that run on 12V. I would need to sense +12V for high and GND for low on digital input. I have 32 lines to test.
Information says "operates on (recommended) 7-12 Volts" so at the beginning I guessed yes but then I also found that "input pins operate on 5V".
In putting my mind to it further, the voltage for the signals on the input pins probably needs to be originating from the on board 5V power supply. Is this correct?
I want to be absolutely sure before continuing.
I apologize in case my question is an insult to the experts.
Thanks.

Treat the input just like an analog input and scale the input voltage to 0-5v using a resistive divider.

There are thousands of threads on here about it. Look around for "12V analog input", but then in your mind substitute "analog" with "digital".

edit: ..wrong information

my bad, sorry

nick

nickn4:
I think your awnser lies in the IOREF pin on your board.

the digital pins knows that 5v is equal to HIGH. although, you can change this value through the IOREF pin if im correct.
i never used it myself before, here's some info i found on arduino page of your board:

"IOREF. This pin on the Arduino board provides the voltage reference with which the microcontroller operates. A properly configured shield can read the IOREF pin voltage and select the appropriate power source or enable voltage translators on the outputs for working with the 5V or 3.3V"

whenever u connect 12V to IOREF, the reference to HIGH will be 12V.
i hope this helped, i sugest you look further into it before testing since im not 100% sure.