NEW to RFID? where to start?

I want to get a little RFID kit/set-up so I can play around from time to time.

No specific project or goal in mind... just something Id like to pick up to play with.

That being said.. I have no experience with RFID stuff at all.. outside of reading tuts or post..and searching for a few kits.

I see MiFare stuff..

13.56Mhz RFID stuff

125Mhz RFID stuff

UART RFID stuff

ID-12 RFID stuff

etc..

It would need to be a READER & WRITER type.. I dont want just passive reading of dumb cards.

So Im a bit un-clear as to what is used for what?.. and what I should target for my hobby needs?

I read 13.56Mhz has more options? (not sure what those options are though)

Something, that has a decent community based for help and coverage/tuts..

one that has 'cheap(er)' card/fob's to use.. (dont want to go broke buying new cards from a dead source for example)

I dont think you can get very far range from RFID anyways.. can you?

anyways..figured Id post get some feedback, discussion going on it.

thanks

You typically don't use RFID for communication between two computers -- you'll use WiFi or Bluetooth or a regular RF channel for that.
For read/write RFID (with "cards") you can use 125 kHz (not MHz!) if you want a cheaper version, or 13 MHz if you want the ISO standard which may be a little more robust.
I don't know a good RFID hobbyist community. That doesn't mean there isn't one. What does Google say?

If I were getting started, I'd look for a 125 kHz reader with a couple of cards, and an UART interface to the Arduino. Perhaps something like http://iteadstudio.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=16&products_id=6 for the reader/writer and http://iteadstudio.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=16&products_id=121 for the cards.
Note: I haven't used those parts yet, but I've been thinking about it.

Thanks for the reply.