China CNC 3018 - Arduino connection problem (serial open butcan't send commands)

Noob here.

I've got an 3018 chinese cnc.

I connected it to my windows 10 PC with arduino ide / Grblctrl and I can connect to the device via USB (USB-CH340 controller).

The device "warm up" and I get the message "Grbl 1.1f ['$' for help]" in the serial monitor in IDE.

After that nothing: I can't give any command to Grbl. "$", "$$", "?" they don't produce any output.
It looks like I can't send any command to the arduino. Same problem with other programs (grbl Controls).

Any idea how to fix this?

I tried to switch USB and reboot multiple times.

A photo of the board is attached.

Thanks in advance.

Are you using a USB 2.0 port or 3.0 ?
It can on occasion make a difference and USB 2.0 is preferable.

Presume you installed the CH340 drivers correctly ?
Sometimes you need to do that as ADMINISTRATOR.

Baud rates are important in GRBL (as with any serial comms) 115200 is the normal default.

It is possible (slim chance) that the board was shipped without GRBL installed.
Most ship with 9.0 but will happily accept the better 1.1.

Bob.

ballscrewbob:
Are you using a USB 2.0 port or 3.0 ?
It can on occasion make a difference and USB 2.0 is preferable.

Presume you installed the CH340 drivers correctly ?
Sometimes you need to do that as ADMINISTRATOR.

Baud rates are important in GRBL (as with any serial comms) 115200 is the normal default.

It is possible (slim chance) that the board was shipped without GRBL installed.
Most ship with 9.0 but will happily accept the better 1.1.

Bob.

Thank you for your reply.

I think that GRBL is installed on the device cause I receive the message "Grbl 1.1f ['$' for help]".
I tried different versions of CH340 drivers.
I also tried different USB ports but I had no luck. :frowning:

1.1f is I think the latest version and also works well with lasers.

Don't forget you can only have one program using the COM port.