Linear to exponential voltage

Hi! I'm trying to use an attiny85 to convert linear input voltage to exponential output, using it with a voltage controlled oscillator to achieve musical 1 Volt/octave tracking. I understand it's a fairly simple task, but I can't wrap my hand around the main equation to get 0-5v pwm output from 0-5v input, as I'm not that good at math. If someone could at least point me in the right direction, I'd be very grateful. Thanks!

We have no clue what your input voltage (source) is, or what you output equation is, so you can't expect us to help you with the math.

My input voltage source would be a control voltage keyboard or a sequencer that produces CV in the range of 0 to 5 volts and the output should also produce 0 to 5 volts but in an exponential curve. The graph of the function should look like this if this helps (found the pic on the internet, from an article describing a transistor-based linear to expo converter) where pink is the linear voltage input and green is the expo output, except in the picture the input voltage goes all the way up to 8 volts.

So what is the equation of the green curve?

Yes, exactly. I'd really like to know that.

Or at least where should I look to find it out for myself :slight_smile:

Gemfire:
Yes, exactly. I'd really like to know that.

You have to tell us that.

You can't output a true variable voltage (at least not on most Arduinos). You can output a signal that a appears to some devices, like LEDs and motors, as a variable voltage, but all you are really doing is changing the duty cycle of a pin.

So it is not clear what your output is supposed to be or whether whatever you are outputting it to will be happy with what you output.

PaulS:
You can't output a true variable voltage