Measure Earth Resistance

I want to make a Earth resistance tester.

In this i want to make a contraption to display the current 'A' in the bigger loop (Electrodes E & A) and the voltage 'V' between the electrodes E & B. All using Arduino board.

After this i want to display the Resistance 'R' which would be R=V/A.

I can make the circuits. I even have the arduino UNO board with me.
What else will i need (shields, sensors, etc) for measuring and displaying the current & voltage.
also the program lines to calculate and display the resistance.

This would be involving high AC voltage (~500V) & currents (1000 amps).

P.S.: I am new in the arduino world to please treat me as a novice... :slight_smile:

Hi,
I strongly suggest you do some searching and reading on this subject first. There are several good information sources, such as: THIS ONE.

The diagram you showed looks like some old textbook.

There are up-to-date sources online.

Along the way you may find out why many AM broadcast stations have their antenna/ground systems located in swampy, salty areas, like the Jersey Meadows.

P.S.: I am new in the arduino world to please treat me as a novice... :slight_smile:

A novice interested in remaining alive will avoid working with voltages greater than 50V.

Okay let me put it this way..!!

I want to break up the commercially available earth resistance tester and make something up using the Arduino...

I understand the basic working of an Earth resistance tester... but i am struggling on the parts to be used along with Arduino UNO... and the programming...

Start safely with two nails, some wire and an Arduino.

ankit_nat wrote:

Gosh, I guess you'll need a rather large AC battery for that for that to be even slightly portable, or live near a power station with a big power point available for you to plug into.

Using such power, make sure you or nobody walks anywhere around or between points A and E on your diagram, least painful and imminent loss of life.