Stepper motor control.

Hi guys

I have a few questions with regards to operating a set of stepper motors in a mechanism, and would appreciate some product information/ advice on a drive electronics unit for the stepper motors.

I am a Final year student currently working on an a pointing mechanism for my final individual project, which utilises a set of permanent stepper motors for its operation. Unfortunately the manufacturing company did not supply the university with any AMP integral electronics, or a dedicated APM-Electronic unit, hence it has become my duty to obtain one.

I am currently uncertain as to which drive kit I need to obtain, having done much research I have come across the idea of possibly using a Frequency (pulse) generator & an Arduino board for driving the motors, however am unsure whether this will work and would kindly appreciate any sort of guidance.

The following are some information about the device and its motors:

The mechanism utilises unipolar 6 wire 15º permanent magnet stepper motors, the gear ratio is 701:1 from motor shaft to ring gear which gives a typical output step size of 0.0008º for each motor step.

The feed to the mechanism is carried out via a 44 pin connector (which can be re-wired for a suitable attachment to the Drive card) , shown in the electrical interface sheet, with a power consumption as follows:

• Trimming 4W/motor
  • Repointing 4W/motor
  • Steady State pointing 0W/motor
  • Phase current and voltage currently unknown, a meeting will be set up with the manufacturer later on during the academic year however I would like to start on this project as early as possible to relive some stress on my other modules, thus ramping up is an option.

Opening up the device is very difficult as the mechanism utilises hazards core material, thus connections have to be soldered from the pin connection (Diagram attached) to the required drive board.