Industrial Electrician looking to expand into instrumentation via Adruino

I am an industrial electrician apprentice. I have been told by instrumentation techs that adruino is a solid option to learn the basics before attending college.

I have no experience building digital electronic systems. Which kit should I start with and what higher level kits should I move onto afterwards? Should I complete the basic kit then move onto the engineering kit?

What home study path would you recommend for an amateur trying to gain expertise in systems similar to instrumentation?

Jservices:
I am an industrial electrician apprentice. I have been told by instrumentation techs that adruino is a solid option to learn the basics before attending college.

I have no experience building digital electronic systems. Which kit should I start with and what higher level kits should I move onto afterwards? Should I complete the basic kit then move onto the engineering kit?

What home study path would you recommend for an amateur trying to gain expertise in systems similar to instrumentation?

Please, give an specific example of an industrial instrumentation such as measuring temperature, pressure and humidity and then show them on a single 4-digit 7-segment display unit one after another at 3-sec interval and record them on SD Card against time stamp at 1-hr interval. If this is your instrumentation, then you need:

1. Arduino UNO
UNOImage.jpg
2. BME280
bme280.jpg
3. MAX7219 based 4xcc-type 7-segment diaply unit
max72197seg.jpg
4. DS3231 RTC
ds3231-z.jpg
5. SD Card
sdCard.jpg

UNOImage.jpg

bme280.jpg

max72197seg.jpg

ds3231-z.jpg

sdCard.jpg

That's a tough one and an interesting one, everyone who gives advice will have had there own pathway and probably has there own idea/s what a good pathway might be.