physical connection between xbee shield and arduino

Hi guys,

I have an xbee pro s2b module connected on a shield and i have the shield connected on top of the Arduino Uno. I have looked at the schematic of the xbee shield, but i just can't figure out which pins are used on the shield. I know that the xbee module uses the pins 1, 10, 11 and 20.

Regards,
gabys

connected on a shield

The one and only shield made for Arduinos? Not likely.

Hi Paul,

This is the latest version of the xbee shield as i can reckon:

and if you scroll down and follow the replacement of each version of the shield you will end up to this one:
SparkFun XBee Shield - WRL-12847 - SparkFun Electronics?

Unfortunately, i can not tell which version my xbee shield is, but more or less the schematic of each one seems the same to me.

I'm a newbie on these, so if you need any further information please ask.

I know that the xbee module uses the pins 1, 10, 11 and 20.

I have the same shield. The shield uses either pins 0 and 1 or pins 2 and 3, depending on which position the switch is in. No other pins are used.

In the xbee manual(page 7) it says that it needs the 4 pins in the corner of the module. Pins 11 and 20 are said to be Analog Input 4 or Digital I/O 4. Which module pin corresponds to RX and which to TX?

In addition, pin 1 of the module is used for the Power Supply and pin 10 is used for the Ground. Which pins on the shield are used for these two?

Xbee manual:
ftp://ftp1.digi.com/support/documentation/90000982_A.pdf

Can the pins of the Arduino that are being used by the xbee shield, also be used by another hardware by just connecting the new hardware on the pins of the shield?

Thank you in advance,
gabys

First off, all you have to do is plug in the XBee module, and it will connect to the proper
pins for Rx,Tx. You're reading something wrong, because pins 2,3 on the module are the
Dout,Din pins, respectively, exactly as shown on the XBee shield schematic.