3x3x3 LED cube driven by Music Input from 3 Bandpasses

Hi Everyone,

Complete newbie here. I have been browsing through lots of topics containing multiplexing LED cubes. I am doing a project that requires me to build a 3x3x3 LED cube and drive it from the output from 3 bandpass filters (filtering bass, treble, and mid) from an audio source.

I have built a miniature 2x2x2 cube till now and have played around with addressing each column and each layer separately using a transistor. However, I am at loss on how to:

Using the Analog input and drive the LED cube such that

a) Each vertical plane (DIFFERENT from the LAYER--the plane is perpendicular to the layer containing 3 columns and 3 layers LED) to react to just the bass frequency and the remaining planes react to treble and mid).

b) The cube I have constructed employs the general common cathode common anode method with the anodes selecting the layer and the cathodes selecting the column. Is there a way to use the Arduino to do what I have explained? The trivial answer may be a Yes, but I would like someone to either direct me to a "readable" code that does similar things or to some sources that can help me out.

I can also take inputs from MSGEQ7 from Analog inputs instead of using the bandpass filters.

I want the cube to be a 3-D Spectrum analyzer. I am very new to programming and am trying my best to cope up. Hence, responses with a little less jargon will help. My friends have suggested using Shift Registers, which I have no idea about.

If anyone is kind enough to help me out, it will be much appreciated.

Thanks
EP

Does your 3x3x3 cube work properly?

What kind of hardware are you using? Whether you will need to use shift registers or not will be determined by how many available pins you have.