Reading TCP binary as HEX, then reading HEX in parts

Hello All,
This is definitely a rookie question, but i am trying to read a tcp packet as a HEX string then use the different byte sets to perform different commands or functions. ex:

Listen to port
IF 1st HEX is AA do something
Then if 2nd HEX is BB do something else
Then if 3rd Hex etc...

I am new to this all together so i'm not even sure where to start, but this is what i have so far:

void loop() { 

{WiFiClient client = server.available();
    if (client.connected()) {
      Serial.println("Connected to client");
      String line = client.readStringUntil('\r'); 

byte b[6];
   Serial.println("Incoming command Set: ");
   Serial.println(client.read(),HEX);
   Serial.print(b[0]); Serial.print(" ");
   Serial.print(b[1]); Serial.print('\n'); 
   {  if (b[0] == 0xAA){functionOne();         Serial.print("One");}
       if (b[0] == 0xBB){functionTwo();       Serial.print("Two");}
}

All I get out of the serial monitor when sending any HEX codes to it is:

Incoming command Set:
FFFFFFFF
0 0

What am i missing? Cheers in advance!

Serial.println(client.read(),HEX);

If you read that when nothing is there to read you get a -1, otherwise written as 0xFF. You should be checking available to see if there is anything to read before you try to read it.

Ymunk:
I am new to this all together so i'm not even sure where to start, but this is what i have so far:

You ought to read: WiFi reference

and check out client.available()

Yours,
TonyWilk

Thanks guys for the reply,
Ive looked in the WiFI library examples as well as the Arduino reference for client.available. Ive tried the codes in the examples which gave me the same output (-1).

I did find an example in the ESP8266WiFi library which works better by checking if available as you said, my output is now in ASCII but any hex comes out as follows:

void loop() { 
  WiFiClient client = server.available();
  if (client)         // wait for a client (web browser) to connect