Power on/off computer using Arduino Yun

Hi All!

I'm trying to connect my Arduino Yun to my PC as a remote power switch.

The idea is that I will be able to connect to my website on the Arduino and power on the computer if it's off or turn it off if it's on.

I'm a web developer, so I think I can handle the programming part of this, but since I have a pretty narrow knowledge on electronics, I'm afraid to damage my PC :slight_smile:

I saw this video: DIY: Adding a Remote Power Switch to Your Studio Computer - YouTube
And read this answer: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/278683-28-power-button-work
which made me think that the power button on the PC doesn't actually require a relay. If I understand correctly, just closing the circuit gives a signal to the motherboard to turn the computer on or off.

Is there a way to simulate this using the Arduino only? Do I need a relay for this type of setup?

Thanks!

An easy way to do that is plug your computer into a powerswitch tail and leave it on.
Then the Arduino turns the tail on and off.

http://www.powerswitchtail.com/Pages/default.aspx

The main problem is that I live in an area with a lot of power shortages.

So every few days my server will shut off (and won't turn back on unless I manually switch it on).

This is a workaround so I'll be able to switch the server back on when abroad or away from home.

If I understand correctly, a powerswitch tail will cut the power to the computer or connect the computer back to power, right?

I prefer that the OS will handle power off in order to let programs save things before switching the computer off.

and if the computer is off, connecting it back to power won't make it power on unless there's an option to make the computer switch on as soon as it connects to a power source.

But again, this is not preferable since it means that on a switch off I'll lose the most recent data of my server.

I want this to resemble a click on the power button as closely as possible