Help with Mega board.

Greetings, I just assembled my 101, and had started calibrating every thing was working fine up to the point I was testing Vref of the stepper drivers, the board stopped working while I had multimeter on the driver screw head(potentiometer). I'm assuming I must have shorted out the driver.

-When I plug in the USB the board(led) and LCD screen boots for half a second and then turns off.
-When I flip the power switch I have power to the LED strip, and the XYZ stops show power as they are in home position so their red lights are on.
-When I test the circuit I get a reading saying the circuit is open(OL), which would make sense if the board is shorting or fuse is blown, but I don't understand why the LED's are still powering.
-The next logical step I can think of would be to replace the Stepper Driver I was testing with the spare, and or take off the ramps shield and test the mega by its self, to isolate the problem. I am new to all of this so I figured I would see if some one sees a easy possibility I am not aware of or could better direct me on what to troubleshoot.

Any ways any and all help would be appreciated. I am looking forward to my first print.

10kwatts:

It sounds like you have a "failure to communicate" type problem. It may be a corrosion problem on the mating pins of the connectors. The first thing to check is that you are getting 12v to the board itself so as to rule out the power supply. The second thing to try is to separate the boards and ensure that they mate properly together checking for a bent pin or misaligned pin. Then pull off the connectors one by one and toggle the power supply each time. The last thing to try is pull off all the connectors and see if the board's led gives you the blinking led. Start putting the connectors one by one back on the board to see if one of the connectors kills the board and turns off the power.