Mouse sensor + Arduino for Distance Traveled (X and Y)

Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to Arduino. For my masters thesis I have to find a way to track the movement of a flat component. Right now I have an Arduino Mega 2560 and am free to choose/buy additional components needed for this project.

I would like to use an optical mouse sensor to measure distance traveled in X and Y but I need an acceleration free sensor, so the measured distance ist not affected by it's velocity. Cheap and acceleration free sensors that I found are:
ADNS-3090, ANDS-3988 and PMW-3310

There are a lot of USB Mice available, that use these sensors but during research it came to my understanding that reading USB signals with an Arduino might be very very complicated opposed to reading PS/2 signals. So my question to you guys is the following:

Should I (as a rookie) consider taking an accelerated mouse sensor with PS/2 since it becomes a lot easier to read the data? Or can I stick with acceleration free sensors which are made for USB?
I appreciate any help and suggestions regarding code, needed libraries or hardware.

Regards
iamming

A quick look at the datasheet of the ADNS-3090 shows the chip has an SPI interface. This interface can be read directly by many microcontrollers, including the Arduino's AVR processors. I didn't check the others, probably similar. In a mouse, there'd be an MCU that interfaces this with the USB or PS/2 bus.
This also means there's a good chance that you can hack an existing mouse (use the case and detectors - remove the mouse's built-in MCU and instead connect the detector chip to the Arduino), or otherwise use a standard mouse casing to re-use the lens and other optics that are needed for this to work, while placing your own detector in it.
There's also a fair chance that you'll be writing your own driver for this chip.

Thanks alot!