New to Microcontrollers, is NodeMCU a good Starting Point?

I have exactly zero experience with Microcontrollers of any type, although I have some experience with programming. I’m mostly thinking of picking NodeMCU because it’s cheap and my eventual goal will probably utilise the Wi-Fi.

Is it a decent place to start, or should I have experience with other Microcontrollers first? Will parts designed for Arduino still work with NodeMCU?

Also, is there a list of components I should have on hand when I’m experimenting? All I can really think of are LEDs.

Thanks!

(Also if this is in the wrong place I apologise but I couldn’t find a newbie area)

Use NodeMCU only if you need the wifi. It's a great part for that - dirt cheap, builtin wifi - but it's a much less full-featured chip. It's also 3.3v, and a lot of the arduino-centric breakout boards you find online assume 5v, and you need to perform some due diligence to make sure they will work with a 3.3v board. Library support on ESP8266 is worse than on AVR-based boards (like the cheaper arduino's), though possibly better than SAM based boards due to the huge following ESP8266 has (due to it being cheaper than a cup of coffee with builtin wifi).

There is an ESP8266 hardware package for the Arduino IDE that should work with the NodeMCU boards - though I haven't tried it (I use Espruino on my ESP8266 boards)

You can also think about using an ESP8266 module to provide WiFi connectivity to an AVR-based Arduino to get the best of both worlds (the superior library support and better peripherals of the AVRs, but with wifi). This is widely done and there are well supported libraries for this.