Android phone following robot?

Hi all,

I'm new to robotics and arduino, but I have been wondering of making robot that would follow me during golf courses and carry my bag staying about 2-3 meters behind me.
Similiar producs have been made (shadow caddy) but the prices are way too much for my budget. I know some programming (PHP, HTML, javascript, VB) so I think I can handle the coding when I dig into it.
I know this is very big project and I do not have hurry with it. First I want to know if it is possible making robot to follow phone (maybe using Bluetooth and three receivers in robot which will analyse the location of phone and follow accordingly) Other option is that I will build separate transmitter and use something other that bluetooth.
I have yet not found a arduino motor controller that would be able to control app. 2x 80W motors so any help from here would be also appreciated.

Hoping to hear any suggestions of hardware to use etc. to help me to achieve my goals.

Thanks in advance!

I have yet not found a arduino motor controller that would be able to control app. 2x 80W motors so any help from here would be also appreciated.

80W at 1 volt and 80W at 1000 volts are quite different amounts of current. Help narrow that down a bit, OK?

First I want to know if it is possible making robot to follow phone

Not easily. The only indication that the robot might have is the signal strength from the phone. The signal strength is not necessarily linear, and is very small, anyway. Detecting the actual direction to the phone would require that the robot be able to wave a directional antenna around.

There really does not appear to be a cheap, easy to implement, "Hey, follow me" solution. At least not that the Arduino can implement.

Now, if you were to wire two IR emitters into the shoulders of your jacket, the robot could use two receivers and determine where you were with respect to itself.