Current Limiting Power Supply

Hello,

I'm new to all of this so I apologize if my question is naive. I need to program the Arduino to deliver a constant 0.1mA pulse to a grounded source. One idea would be to get a current-limiting power supply and have the Arduino control a relay. However, since I am dealing with such lower current, I was wondering if there was a way that i could do this just by using the Arduino alone. There will be some variability in the source, and the current pulse needs to be constant at 0.1mA DC for the duration of 1sec (a little bit of variability in the current during the first few msec while the system adapts and changes V or R to adjust to 0.1mA is ok).

Any ideas?

Thanks!

What is the voltage across the load? i.e., what is the input impedance?

A simple 50k resistor connected between an Arduino pin and ground sends 0.1mA to ground.
But your (unknown) device might not be perfect/0ohm.
Tell us more about it.
e.g. what is the voltage across the device with 0.1mA going into the device.
Leo..

Well this is the inherent problem. The goal is to deliver 0.1mA electric shocks to tiny little individual insects for training. The resistance across one individual insect to the next will vary based on intrinsic differences between each animal (mass, water/salt content, thickness of cuticle, electrode placement, etc.). However, for the sake of comparison, I need the current delivered to each insect to be the same during training trials. The system needs to somehow deliver a pulse, and within the first few msec determine whether or not to increase/decrease the voltage delivered in order to keep the magnitude of the current the same for all insects shocked.

Does this help? I'm a biologist and am getting lost in the circuitry lingo. Since I won't need to ever change the current (I will always use 0.1mA), I would like to avoid buying a pricey constant-current power supply.

*edit: minor spelling and grammar.