Project 02 - led and resistor connection question

Hi,

I'm new to electronics and have a question about the wiring for project 02

Pins 3,4 and 5 are set to OUTPUT and connect directly to the anodes of 3 LEDs. The cathodes of each then lead to a 220-ohm resistor, which then connect to earth

I'm confused by this because in project 01 a 220-ohm resistor sat in between live and the anode of a LED apparently to protect it from burning out (it mentioned that 23 milliamps was the maximum that could safely flow through the LED).

In project 02 it seems that the resistors are connected at a point after the current has entered the LED so I don't understand how they are protecting the LEDs (which they obviously are because nothing's melting : )

It seems that I'm missing some fundamental understanding about the flow of current. Can someone correct my thinking please?

Cheers

Pin-LED-Resistor-GND
and
Pin-Resistor-LED-GND
are the same electrically, just 1 series circuit. Order of LED/Resistor does not matter.
Each LED needs a resistor tho, unless your code will ensure that only 1 at a time will be on.
Otherwise brightness will vary as you 1, 2, or 3 on.

OK that's great.

I wondered if that might be the case. Thanks for adjusting my thinking :slight_smile:

I had this same question, and it's helpful to know. However, does anyone know why the order of resistor and LED doesn't matter in a simple circuit? When does it matter?

Current thru both parts is the same - thus, it never matters.