Storing, and averaging microphone readings

Hello all,

I have an electret microphone connected to my arduino and the readings are printing out to the serial monitor every 50ms.

I need to create an average of the readings every hour, then pop that average number in a mySQL database.

But a reading every 50ms = 72,000 readings per hour

How could i go about doing this?

How could i go about doing this?

Add each reading to a running total as you take it then calculate the average at the end of the hour. Make sure that you choose the right type of variable for the running total.

What "readings"? The average of an audio signal is always zero. The instantaneous value (one sample taken periodically) has little relationship to the audio waveform unless the Nyquist criterion is met (2*f samples/t).

These are max level readings.

This is a college project and i am new to it.

Max level readings are what is being serial printed (e.g 2.7, 2.1, 2.4, 2.4, 2.3, 2.7 (volts))

After one hour i need the calculated average level (e.g 2.5), like an SPL meter

what do you mean "Add each reading to a running total" and how can i go about this

what do you mean "Add each reading to a running total" and how can i go about this

At the start of the hour set the total to zero. Then as each reading is taken add it to the total. At the end of the hour divide the total by the number of readings. There is no need to store each reading.

mrears92:
These are max level readings.

This is a college project and i am new to it.

Max level readings are what is being serial printed (e.g 2.7, 2.1, 2.4, 2.4, 2.3, 2.7 (volts))

After one hour i need the calculated average level (e.g 2.5), like an SPL meter

Does your microphone module have a built in peak detector, or does it output audio? If it's audio, how do you know that the peak occurs at the time when you happen to sample it? Also, how do you handle the DC offset (A/D is 0-5V typically, while audio is AC, and has +/- swings)?

UKHeliBob: