New Guy

Hello everyone,

I have been lurking around the forum for a couple of days while deciding if I wanted to buy an Arduino. I ordered the Mega, and it should be here soon. I will probably spend a couple of weeks or months trying to get used to the environment, so expect a lot of questions! From what I've read on this forum, it seems that there are a lot of people here who are very helpful and willing to share their experience.

I am an EE student at my local university, and work as an engineering assistant at my job; however I am a terrible programmer :-/. It is my hope that the arduino kit will hone the C++ skills I was supposed to learn.

Anyway, it's good to be here. Like I said, I'll ask lots of questions about programming and implementation. I have about one more year left before I need to start my Senior Project, so I thought I would get started now learning the Arduino, as I feel it will be a major central component of whatever I decide to build.

End of line.

Sounds like a good plan. Glad you stopped lurking...

Still currently got 166 lurking guests though :stuck_out_tongue:

Mowcius

ask away! thats why this place exists

(hi and welcome too)

I feel it will be a major central component of whatever I decide to build.

It will become a major part of of everything you want to build. It will consume you. Then, one day, when you least expect it, a postman will offer you a ride. Do not get in his van. Or something... Anyway, the only problem is that you run out of arduinos quickly, lol.

I have found a number of shields I will probably want later, but for now I'm going to just learn to do simple stuff with the Mega by itself.

I have already gotten some great ideas for a senior project from some of you here. What I'd really like to build (either for myself or maybe my senior project, depending on the complexity) is a robot that rolls and balances on a single ball. :wink: