Help with WS2812 project

I need some help. Caveat. I am a newbie and probably dumb.

I want to light my stairs with an Arduino Uno and some WS2812 LEDs. I bought the LEDs from Amazon and put them on my staircase... so far so good.

I followed this wiring guide:

(yes I am going to make each step a cylon step. dont ask!)

Everything works, until I get to about step 5 or 6, and the LEDs start to get really dim. If I try to add step 7 all kinds of things start acting weird. I am only changing the number of LEDs in the code. But I don't think its code because I used another set of code to just light them all up and the same thing happens. They get dimmer as they go.

Help!

Your power supply is insufficient to drive your LEDs.

How many have you got?

Do not try and power a lot of LEDs from the Arduino it will not work.

OK, few matters here, that is an introductory tutorial for a few - and by that I mean no more than fifteen or so - WS2812 LEDs.

It sounds like you have become far more ambitious and rather quickly. The lesson here is to describe what you are actually doing and I mean - describe.

How many LEDs are you using? How are you proposing to power them? As I say, for up to ten LEDs, you can connect them as in that "tutorial" to the "5V" in of the Arduino and power it from the USB connector. What you cannot do is to power the Arduino via the "barrel jack" on the UNO or "Vin" or "Raw". these power connections are for the Arduino when connected to essentially nothing else - maybe just a couple of LEDs (and not WS2812s!).

If you are using WS2812 strips you require a power supply to suit. Calculate 60 mA per LED; 1.2 Amps for 20 LEDs and so on. When you hit 200 LEDs that is 12 Amps at 5V, always a regulated 5 V supply.