bootloading with Nano stopped working and the -F switch

Hi guys,

I have a strange problem. I have been burning bootloader to my custom boards for more than 2 years now, always using the same setup, an Arduino Nano with the ICSP signals (reset from D10), target chips are Atmega328p devices. It worked all right, having burnt hundreds of boards already. And now it just stopped, and I did not update anything (in fact still using IDE 1.6.10, with Board Manager 1.6.17).

Sometimes the signature 0x000000 comes, OK I know that the connection to the target board is bad. But even if the connection is sound, avr finds always reasons not to burn the bootloader.

I even tried to re-burn boards which work perfectly, and are already bootloaded. No luck! I'm in a difficult situation, as I always depended on this already working solution and out of a sudden it stopped performing its task.

I attach a few logs. It seems sometimes avr complains about the device signature. OK, I can solve it by editing the conf file. But even if this test is passed, afterwards there are other stuff checked, all with the result that at the end the avr refuses to burn the bootloader.

I also would like to learn how to use the -F switch. I'm really willing to experiment with it, knowing the risk involved. Is there a way to activate it somewhere in such a way that the IDE always use -F?

I'm grateful for any hint what could cause this sudden problems.

Thanks!

bootload_fail_1.txt (4.1 KB)

bootload_fail_1.txt (4.1 KB)

bootload_fail_3.txt (4.1 KB)

code_upload_success.txt (3.26 KB)

Protonerd:
I also would like to learn how to use the -F switch. I'm really willing to experiment with it, knowing the risk involved.

The easiest way to experiment is:

• File > Preferences > Show verbose output during: > upload (check) >OK
  • Tools > Burn Bootloader