WS2812 LED Matrix not responding

Hi everyone,

~ this is my first Arduino project and I am a general beginner in electronics.

I am working an a really simple project:
Displaying a specific image on a LED matrix controlled by an Arduino Micro when a button is pushed.

So far I just wanted to try connecting the LED matrix to the Arduino and make the LED change color to see how it was reacting.
Simple, but well, it doesn't work and I have issue to understand where the problem could come from.

I bought a LED matrix that is similar to the NeoPixel NeoMatrix from Adafruit.
It's not for Adafruit but it's made with RGB NeoPixel LED WS2812-2020.

It's this piece to be precise :

The specs are the following:

Input voltage: DC 3.7 V - 5.3 V (5 V recommended)
Rated power: 5 W (max.)
Operating temperature: -25 to 65 ° C
LED type: WS 2812-2020
Luminescent color: RGB full color (G - R - B order)
Number of LEDs: 64 LED (cut not possible, cascade connection possible)
Accessory: capacitor 220 μF 16 V

I followed the recommendations from the adafruit website and put a 440Ω resistor (actually 2x220Ω in series) between the matrix and the arduino output pin (pin n6).
I haven't solder the capacitor yet, it should work without it (right ?).

Here is what it looks like:

And here is my Arduino code:

#include <Adafruit_NeoPixel.h>

#include <Adafruit_NeoPixel.h>

#define PIN 6	 // input pin Neopixel is attached to

#define NUMPIXELS    64 // number of neopixels in strip

Adafruit_NeoPixel pixels = Adafruit_NeoPixel(NUMPIXELS, PIN, NEO_GRB + NEO_KHZ800);

int delayval = 100; // timing delay in milliseconds

int redColor = 0;
int greenColor = 0;
int blueColor = 0;

void setup() {
  // Initialize the NeoPixel library.
  pixels.begin();
}

void loop() {
  setColor();

for (int i=0; i < NUMPIXELS; i++) {
    // pixels.Color takes RGB values, from 0,0,0 up to 255,255,255
    pixels.setPixelColor(i, pixels.Color(redColor, greenColor, blueColor));