WS2811 Pixel Driver

Hey all, this is my first time on the forums. I've had an Arduino for a pretty short time, and I've been messing around with PWM control of LED's, control over DMX, etc.

The next project I'm looking to mess with is creating a basic model for a pixel driver using the WS2811 three-channel PWM IC. I'm interested in the pixel strings places like Adafruit carry, but I'm looking at being able to control much larger pixels than what I'm seeing (upwards of dozens of RGB LEDs). To that end I'm looking at having a WS2811 IC driving three beefy MOSFETS via optocouplers, that way I can attach the driver to any sized pixel I would want to. I was hoping to throw up my basic schematic and see if anyone sees anything that's going to cause an explosion before I construct my first test (parts are currently on order).

Eventually I'd step up to a 24V supply, and power to the pixel would go direct, not via the driver board.

Thanks for any advice :slight_smile:

Hi,

I haven't examined every aspect of your design but you will deffinitely need some pulldown resistors on the gates of the mosfets. Your opto's will charge the gates but there is nothing to discharge the gate for the off period. There are some elaborate mosfet driver designs out there, but usually a simple resistor from each gate to ground will suffice and stop the mosfet from potentially staying latched on due to gate charge. Mosfets have a very high gate input impedance so it could take several seconds or more for the gate voltage to leak away without them. Also, without any pulldowns the high input impedence will leave the mosfet very susceptable to EMI (electro magnetic interference) in the enviroment which could have the effect of them switching on at random if electrical or RF noise is close.

I have only looked very breifly for a few seconds at the diagram so can not comment on the rest but the gate drive jumped straight out at me.