8 LED Fade

Hi folks I am very new to all this so please be patient.

Can anyone help with some code that I can easily change ( the colours and time).
Sorry I am dyslexic so coding I find difficult.

I have a project were i am using the following:-
NeoPixel Ring - 8 x WS2812 5050 RGB LED Ring
I want to be able to start up on fade (all 8 Leds together) say BLUE.
Then over a time fade to RED and the back to Blue and so on repeating.

If the fade time can be random, and changing colour easy to that would be great.

PLEASE can some help me out.

Sorry I am dyslexic so coding I find difficult.

I am also dyslexic and so is my son. We have found that being dyslexic is a positive advantage in coding.

Look at the examples that come with either the Adafruit or fastLED libiary. It is basic stuff and there are examples that show this.

However I would recommend you go through the basic examples in the IDE to gain experance in programming first.

GrumpyMike shared some code that had a fade function as a state machine. I used it in a sketch for a 8pixel ring.

The thread

Hi folks many thanks for all the advice etc.....
I will have a go at coding.

I also asked on here for help as I am a short programme to get his done I had hoped for
leg up to save me time also.

chris-smith:
I also asked on here for help as I am a short programme to get his done I had hoped for
leg up to save me time also.

Like, someone write the code for you? I don't think these forums work like that.

Sorry I did not understand that we could not ask for that type of help. Like I said I am goi g to have a learning coding and in fact I am.
But I have a charity event soon and time is very much against me. While I am struggling learning coding I am not getting bits done I can do.
I thought putting a call for help was ok.
I will continue as I am then. At worst the leds will be on if not working totally.
Many thanks to all who have put constructive comments and I am playing with those codes.