DIY chlorophyll a fluorometer build help needed

I am very new to Arduino and coding in general but i have a somewhat ambitious project i would like to try out. I would like to build a fluorometer for measuring chlorophyll a fluorescence. This is a tool commonly utilized for measuring certain photosynthetic properties in plants and algae. Basically, it consists of a flash of light from and LED which excites fluorescent photopigments within the plant or algae. The resulting rise in chlorophyll fluorescence is then recorded with a photodiode. A high band pass filter is placed in front of the photodiode so that only the fluorescence signal and not the LED flash itself is detected by the photodiode.
As far as hardware goes, i believe i need little more than a good LED capable of very quick flashes of light, a photodiode (im using a very basic one for now and once i have figured out how to run things, i will upgrade to a much better one), and some sort of amplifier as i will ultimately be detecting very low light levels. Ideally i would like to control this device using the Arduino platform (currently i have the UNO but i can get something else if need be) and some graphical user interface. The "product" i would be interested in is both a data plot and a text file of light levels encompassing the flash of light. Depending on what i am interested in, the time scale for the entire thing would be roughly 500ms to several seconds, with samples being recorded at least every millisecond (every 10-100us would be better).