Arduino r3 uno - gregensom dancing LED strip project

Hey,
I am completely new to arduino and want to follow a YouTube called gregensoms guide to making interactive LED strips:

His video is awful when it comes to teaching how to actually make it. On his GitHub i found the schematics code etc. I understand majority of the circuit except for how to connect the LED strip to the arduino, and how to power it? i.e. do i connect the strip to the arduino and plug a 12v supply into the arduino? i dont get it. Could i have links on amazon uk for the power supply required, and some advice on how to actually connect it? thanks :smiley:

Truly appalling video. With quotes like "I really don't know what is going on here I will have to work it out."

On the schematic on the video he shows a 12V power supply being connected to a 5V strip which will burn it out if you try it.

He shows two sorts of strip in the video's notes.

LED Strip (12V): https://www.amazon.com/BTF-LIGHTING-3...
or
LED Strip (5V): https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01...

So if you have the 12V one power it with 12V, if you have the 5V one then power it with 5V. If you have the 12V one then in the code where you specify the number of LEDs then you have to use a number that is one third of the number of LEDs you actually have, because those strips only control the LEDs in groups of three at a time.

On his GitHub

Would have been good to provide a link to that.

THANKS FOR YOUR REPLY!

that's his GitHub ^

i will opt for the better led strip:

what i dont understand however, is how do i connect a charging pin from the 12v power supply to the circuit?
i know the arduino has a power supply input, but the led strip needs an input. how do i do the wiring?

i will opt for the better led strip: