Hacking old payphones

Hello all.

I'm part of a group applying for a grant to activate a public space. The design that we've come up with involves six old payphone booths. As people pass by the phones or open the door to one of the booths, they will ring. When the receiver gets picked up the phone will play a pre-recorded message - three of the phones will play messages about the history of the space, two of them will play messages about the present, and one will play a message about a possible future.

As far as I see it (and I'm no electronics expert so please let me know if something is glaringly wrong) there are three systems we've got to work out. Firstly, the phone needs to play a recording when it is picked up off of the receiver. Secondly, there need to be some motion sensors on the outside of the booth that will pick up passersby and make the phone ring, but not be so sensitive that the phone is constantly ringing (the space is moderately busy and in a cultural-center/touristy part of town, and about three dozen people pass through it every ten minutes or so). Thirdly, the phone needs to ring when the door of the booth is opened.
We've been trying to get ahold of some of the old phone booths that our city took out in the last few years, but if we can't get any of those we're planning on using something like this and building a booth for it: Decorative Telephones You'll Love in 2023 - Wayfair Canada

I was wondering if you guys think that an Arduino is the appropriate tool to use to get the phone to do this? Could it handle all three operations for all six booths, or would we need one Arduino per phone booth? I've got some very preliminary experience with Arduinos and electronics, but it was a few years ago and I would call myself pretty much a novice. Is this too ambitious? We do have several months in which to plan (this project would go up in the summer), but are trying to get a final budget together soon.