Hayfeeder: use electronic locks on timer

Hello,
I'm a newbie here. I've seen some projects with arduino from my kid at school and this got me interested...
I've got a litle project witch is to complicated for him. (but want to do it with him.)

Could anybody give me some tips? (remember the newbie part :slight_smile: )

I want to make an automatic hay feeder, 4 compartments that should open on specific times.

1st at 10h
2nd at 13h
3rd at 17h
... etc

basically that's it, if someone likes to help me all the way, ideally what i want:

LCD screen with time, and possibility to use this screen and buttons to set the time and the timer which will activate the relays and so also the locks. (so that I don't need computer only for the first upload)

I'dd like to use 220V AC current.

Attached all the things I think I need (correct me if I'm wrong)

Arduino ofcourse (uno ok? ) (1pc)
transfo from 220ac to 12v 8.5A DC (if I'm not mistaken ok for arduino / locks?) (2pc one for arduino and one for the 4 locks together? )
relays (4 pc )
ds 3231 (4pc - 1 per relais? )
4 locks
LCD screen (1pc)

If someone could explain or draw a plan on how to connect

maybe some pointers codewise? (I'm gooing to have to guide my son (12years))

As described the project doesn't sound very complex. An Uno would suit fine. You only need one RTC. Use logic level MOSFETS to control the locks. That avoids the mechanical relays that require current to hold closed and are more prone to failure. Relays need transistor drivers anyway, why add complexity? The LCD could be a simple 2 line character LCD like a 1602 (2 line 16 characters per line). Depends on how much data that you want to display. Those displays can be 4 bit parallel or I2C interface. I would use the 220ac to 12v 8.5A DC for the lock power supply and a 5V cell phone charger for the Arduino. Since you are switching inductive loads that isolates the Arduino from the potentially noisy lock supply.