Neutrino: A small Arduino command-line tool library for beginners(by a beginner)

Hi all,

I'm a Arduino beginner, happily uploaded my blinking sketch a couple weeks ago. After writing and uploading some experimenting sketches, I realised I need some extent of integration. So I wrote this small helper library, where I can bind a task function to a command name, and register it to the system. I then can call each task by sending its command name to Arduino via Serial (or via other means).

It's a trivial idea and trivial implementation, but I found it's triggering my imagination. After registering some simple tasks, I can then use these tasks as building blocks and do something more useful by combing them. So I'd like to share it here.

It's called "Neutrino" (named after a small, chargeless particle which is also a building block of the universe), and the Github page contains a very detailed introduction. Very birefly, it's as follows.

/* First, include and define a global Neutrino object. */
#include <Neutrino.h>

Neutrino neu = Neutrino(true);  // define a global task handler. "true" to automatically add a "_help" command.
// ... other codes

/* Second, define your task functions. Each task function should take no arguments and return an int8_t type variable as its exit code. */

int8_t led_control()
{
  // your codes to control some led
  return 0; // an exit code
}

/*Third, register each task you defined above to a command name. (Usually in "setup" function but not compulsory.) */

neu.add_command("led", led_control);  // Here the led_control function is bind to "led" command. */

/* Last, when you get some command stirng(possibly from Serial, sent by a user), you can parse it and run the corresponding task:

uint8_t retval = neu.parse_command(command); //Here "command" is a string variable.

/* To display the help information (a list of all commands available): */

neu.print_help_info();