Arduino canon control

Hi
Im new with Arduino and I dont remeber too much about programming.
Im a scuba diver and a photographer and Id like to build my personal underwave photo huosing.
Id found something interesting about the DIY housing but I need some help about programming the Arduino.
Could someone tell me which are the basic command to open a session with a Canon Eos and change Mode (M,Av,Tv,P,A), speed, shutter, iso and exposure compensation?
Regards

Luigi

Well, Arduino alone is best suited to simple shutter control- the shutter release is a simple switch.

However, the "basic" command you are talking about doing.. control over all of the functions of the camera, remotely, via USB.. that requires a USB host, which is not a small project by any means.. in fact, many (including me) have worked on USB host code specific to camera control.. even specifically to Canon.

I'm soon going to embark upon another whack at it, I'm purchasing a daughterboard for my arduino which provides rudimentary USB host block transfers and interfaces with I2C, so we'll see if I can get a workable Canon kludge protocol (not implementing Live View or data transfer) running with that.

The simple answer to your question is : "There isn't one."

It depends a little on how you want to address the problem.
An USB solution will indeed require an USB-host/ lots of programming.
That may.... be possible with an 8-bit arduino and a load of work, but a 32-bit platform will probably be better.

You could also use Arduino to drive motors/servos, touching buttons and changing settings inside the housing though.
Don't know much about diving, but have seen some nice wireless setup for Kite Aerial Photography (KAP) using the robotic approach. A google on KAP + Rig might give you some ideas.