temperature humidity sensor library problems

My first post so I hope I don't stuff up!

Attempting to get a sketch and library for DHT11 temp and humidity sensor, obtained from Arduino Playground - DHT11Lib, working .

I am very new to the arduino but have a reasonable programming background so I am pretty sure I am not makeing to many simple mistakes

When I attempt to load the sketch I get a complie error

DHTtest1:49: error: 'dht11' does not name a type
DHTtest1.cpp: In function 'void loop()':
DHTtest1:66: error: 'DHT11' was not declared in this scope

the offending line of code appears to be

dht11 DHT11;

surrounding code is

#include <dht11.h>

dht11 DHT11;

#define DHT11PIN 2

This is where I come unstuck. I don't understand the syntax. I am new to C++ and arduino but have a reasonable background in other languages to work my way through it and learn what I need to learn. The problem is I can't seem to find the right terminology to swat up on the meaning of "dht11 DHT11;" and why it is incorrect. It appears to reassign object dht11 ( which is what the library files are called) to DHT11 as this is how the object is referenced elsewhere in the sketch eg "int chk = DHT11.read(DHT11PIN);"

If anyone can help me understand what is going wrong and what I need to search for to understand the syntax and sort it out for myself it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

When I attempt to load the sketch I get a complie error

DHTtest1:49: error: 'dht11' does not name a type
DHTtest1.cpp: In function 'void loop()':
DHTtest1:66: error: 'DHT11' was not declared in this scope

Is this the ONLY error you get? Nothing about not being able to open the include file? Did you scroll up in the error window?

The problem is I can't seem to find the right terminology to swat up on the meaning of "dht11 DHT11;" and why it is incorrect.

The line in question is creating an instance of the class, dht11, calling that instance DHT11.