New Servo Question

So I have two quick questions.

1. Is there any way to SEARCH these forums? I'm sure my question has been asked before, but I"m not having any luck finding an answer. :slight_smile:

2. I'm new to Arduino and just starting to play with builds involving a single servo. Before I play with the "sweep" and "knob" programs, is there anything I need to do to calibrate or initialize the servo? If it can move from angles 0 - 180, and I command it to go to 180, what if the shaft is not at 0? E.g., can the shaft be at 90, and I send it to 180; can it only move 90 more and "break"?

Thanks!

Found the forum search. (Can't believe I missed it.)

This thread looks like it answers some of my questions:

http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=164829.0

but I still don't know if you can break a servo by commanding it to move more than it "can" move...

gar0u:
but I still don't know if you can break a servo by commanding it to move more than it "can" move...

You can but if you just barely reach the endpoint, it's not likely to damage the servo.

You should use the knob example and monitor where the endpoints are so you can use these values in other programs.

So how do you determine where "center" (90) is? Especially for a new servo?

I don't see any code in the examples that calibrates or centers the servo. Is this something you have to worry about, or do you just plug in the servo and command it to 180 to find the upper bound, regardless of it's current position? Won't that break it?

gar0u:
So how do you determine where "center" (90) is? Especially for a new servo?

I don't see any code in the examples that calibrates or centers the servo. Is this something you have to worry about, or do you just plug in the servo and command it to 180 to find the upper bound, regardless of it's current position? Won't that break it?

Do you have a pot to use with the knob example? If so, I'll let you know which program to try in a few minutes.