Servo motor forward reverse toggle with button

I'm new to Arduino and this programming language too, and I am having great trouble doing something as seemily simple as making a servo motor go forward with the press of a button, and with another press make it go back. I've found a couple of different codes, but no matter how much I try none of them work for me. It seems to work for others. What am I doing wrong?

My motor is connected to pin 9. The button is connected to pin 2.

Here's one:

#include <Servo.h>
const int switchPin = 2; //active low
const int servoPin = 9;
Servo servo;

void setup() {
  pinMode(switchPin, INPUT_PULLUP);
  servo.attach(servoPin); 
}

void loop() {
  if (digitalRead(switchPin))
    servo.write(90);  // HIGH (switch is off)
  else
    servo.write(100);  // LOW (switch is on)

delay(500);  //delay for debounce
}

Here's another one:

//zoomkat servo button toggle test 4-28-2012

#include <Servo.h>
int button = 5; //button pin, connect to ground to move servo
int press = 0;
Servo servo;
Servo servo1;
boolean toggle = true;

void setup()
{
  pinMode(button, INPUT); //arduino monitor pin state
  servo.attach(7); //pin for servo control signal
  servo1.attach(8); //pin for servo control signal
  digitalWrite(5, HIGH); //enable pullups to make pin high
}

void loop()
{
  press = digitalRead(button);
  if (press == LOW)
  {
    if(toggle)
    {
      servo.write(160);
      servo1.write(20);
      toggle = !toggle;
    }
    else
    {
      servo.write(20);
      servo1.write(160);
      toggle = !toggle;
    }
  }
}

Here's yet another:

//Directions are using the same pins from zoomkat servo button toggle test code so that a zwave switch could easily be added to test new code
		        //run 4.8 to 6v ground wire spliced to servo and ground on digital side of nano,
			// and a 3rd splice to z wave isolated switch to switch the ground for the nano to read