LED PWM Dimmer Circuit

Hi all,

Please point me in the right direction if this question has been asked before.
I did allot of reading on the forum, but can't seem to find a answer.

I'm building a light hood for my 2m x 1m marine tank.
Will be using about 196 CREE 3w LEDs. Will use Cool White, Blue and Royal Blue LEDs.

The problem is that I will need 14 individual Mean Well drivers, 2 per 300mm x 300mm section.
So I think this is not the best way to do it. I would rather run 3 big drivers, one for white, one for blue and one for royal blue.
Now I need a circuit to dimm each block of LEDs.

I would like to controll each sections white, blue and royal blue.

I'm no designer, just a programmer. Is there such units available for sale?
Or how easy would it be to build my own?

Apreaciate your input.

Regards,
Lean

You said the leds are 3w, but what voltage and current?

dc42:
You said the leds are 3w, but what voltage and current?

Driver at 700mA 3.2 volt
Driver at 1000mA 3.3 volt

The CREE model numers:

Neutral White Cree XP-G LED (XPGWHT-L1-0000-00FE4)
Blue Cree XP-E LED (XPEBLU-L1-0000-00201)
Royal Blue Cree XP-E LED (XPEROY-L1-0000-00B01)

Thanks for your response!

To give you more info:

The design will have 12 sections.
Each section contain:

• 14 White LEDs
  • 8 Royal Blue LEDsp
  • 6 Blue LEDs

I would have run a Mean Well driver for each color.

Someone used "Meanwell ELN-60-48P driver".
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,66070.0.html

Magician:
Someone used "Meanwell ELN-60-48P driver".
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,66070.0.html

Hi Magician,

My original plan was to use these drivers, but I will need 14 - 16 of them to control all the LEDs.
I was just wondering if there is a alternative to using so many drivers.

Was hoping to use only 3 big drivers to power the LEDs and then use a circuit to dim the power of each LED section.