Simple Clock In to control SH-101

Hi-

I'm working on my first Arduino project (total noob) and looking for some input. Essentially I want to specify a BPM (derived in ms), then have the Arduino send out a +5v trigger signal for the 101 to lock to. Here's the very basic start I have:

/*
  SH-101 Ext Clock In

reference for translating BPM to MS
  http://www.futureproducers.com/forums/production-techniques/getting-started/bpm-millisecond-conversion-chart-224476/

Whole: (60.0 / bpm * 4000,1)
  Half: (60.0 / bpm * 2000,1)
  Quarter: (60.0 / bpm * 1000,1)
  Eighth: (60.0 / bpm * 500,1)
  Sixteenth: (60.0 / bpm * 250,1)

BPM: 120
  Whole: 2000.0 Half: 1000.0
  Quarter: 500.0 Eighth: 250.0
  Sixteenth: 125.0

This example code is in the public domain.
 */

int analogPin = 3;   // output to go to keyboard

void setup() {                
  // initialize the digital pin as an output.
  // Pin 13 has an LED connected on most Arduino boards:
  pinMode(13, OUTPUT);     
}

void loop() {
  // initial pulse

digitalWrite(13, HIGH);   // set the LED on
  analogWrite(analogPin, 255); // turn on signal to full strength
  delay(250);              

// recovery
  digitalWrite(13, LOW);    // set the LED off
  analogWrite(analogPin, 0); // turn on signal off
  delay(250);              
}

After hooking up to my DMM and getting no voltage on the output, I think I've gathered I need to make a DAC to convert the voltage to something usable from analogWrite().

http://provideyourown.com/2011/analogwrite-convert-pwm-to-voltage/

I think I may be missing something on the timing - am I thinking about this right adding a delay, or is the actual timing going to be controlled with the Modulation Frequency? I also got a bit lost trying to figure out what values to plug into the online calculator at (Sample)RC Low-pass Filter Design for PWM - Result -