Promblem controlling an 1-10V dimming ballast

Hello everyone,

i am new with the arduino and am using it at my project which is controlling an 1-10v dimmable ballast.
First i made a circuit using an omp amp to multiple the arduino PWM output.This circuit normally works but when i connect it to the ballast the lamps are not dimmed.
I measured the 1-10v input of the ballast when its only powered with 220V ac and it gives me 13V
When i connect it to the arduino and altering its out put voltage this voltage is only changing a little.
What might be wrong ?Could anyone help me?

sorry if my English are bad

Your problem is that you think you can output 1 - 10 V from the arduino using PWM.
Not true.
PWM stands for Pulse Width Modulation

1 - 10 V Input requires ANALOG.

PWM != ANALOG

You need a DAC

It IS possible to filter PWM using an RC LP FILTER

( 4.7k ohm resistor in series with 1 to 2.2 uF cap, with the input at one end of the resistor and the output
at the other end of the resistor where it connects to the cap .

The LP FILTER is going to have a slower response time than the DAC and the DAC is only $5 so it makes
more sense to order the DAC and use the LP filter as a temporary work around until your DAC arrives.

Also, the DAC can only output 0 - 5V dc so you need an OP AMP configured as a Non-Inverting Amplifier, with RIn =Rf because the gain formula for a non-inverting amplifier
is :
Vout=[(Rf/RIn)+1]
Let RIn=Rf= 10k ohm
Then,
Vout= (10k/10k)+1 = 2

2 x 5Vdc = 10V dc
Obviously you have to power the op amp with +12V, Not 5V. Get the lowest current 12V dc wall wart
you can find. (100 mA) would be ideal.

You still need the Gain of 2 op amp amplifier if you use the RC LP filter since the PWM is 0 - 5Vdc.
Either way you need the x2 amplifier.

Datasheet for the ballast in question? The starting point is finding out what it expects
as input. That means knowing the impedance, not just the nominal voltage levels. For all
we know it is happy with PWM.