Using a stepper motor to drive a monochromator

Hi there,

I am currently building a homemade scanning UV-VIS spectrometer using an LDR, a potentiometer (to verify the wavelength) and a stepper motor (to rotate the diffraction grating).

DATA:

-Arduino UNO R3
-28byj-48 stepper motor with uln2003 driver (5 V)

Until now i was using Labview to get the data of the LDR vs the voltage of the potentiometer, however it seems that I am not able to drive the stepper motor through Labview (It is probably possibly, but unfortunately I am a chemist which knows almost nothing about engineering/electronics ...)

Hence, I would like to drive the stepper motor directly with another Arduino Uno board, ideally the code should have the following functions:

-Scan: when a button is pressed the motor moves a certain (fixed) number of degrees (from A to B) waits for a while and go back to its original position (A).
-Go To functionality: by pressing two buttons (up and down) the motor moves (in 0,1º steps) until reaching a desired position (between A and B).

Would it be possible? And if so, where do I start from ?

Thanks in advance!

I need to understand your setup better.
Do you currently have an Arduino monitoring the pot and LDR and that Uno communicates with Labview via serial?

Or do you have a Labview board that reads the pot and LDR and you need to add the Uno, buttons and stepper. The Labview would communicate with the Uno.

A schematic or block diagram would help.

Do you have limit switches so the stepper can know when it gets to either end? It can't read it's own position, so at least once when you turn the thing on it needs to be able to find a home position. From there what you want to do is trivial matter of calculating how many wavenumbers per step.

Do you take in account that an LDR has a spectral response like this

I never used LabView in this way, I suppose that Arduino has Firmata sketch.