Beginners Electronics Learning?

Hi guys, im new to the forums and while i've been a Programmer for awhile (Graduated with my B.S. in CS 6 months ago) i've always been super interested in Embedded and Electronics. Arduino seemed like the next obvious step, I think it's TOTALLY awesome.

problem is....my electronics knowledge is literally almost zip, zero, natta. I know some VERY basic stuff.....but other than that I suck at Electronics. So what would be the best learning resource to catch me up to speed?

I also want to understand Microcontrollers along with that, like the actual internals and how they work. I know the Arduino uses an AVR.....but I would like to understand everything thats on the actual board so that it's not so black box when Im connecting up stuff.

I know it's probably a long shot, but is there a book that maybe shows me this? Otherwise i'd assume I would need a Electronics book + a MC book (like an AVR book....any recommendations?)
edit: Also if such a KIT exits with the Arduino + Some electronic stuff that'd be SUPER helpful as well (any recommendations?)

Ideally my first Arduino project is gonna be something with LEDS lol.

Start with going through the tutorial site of teh Arduino to see what it can do.
Playground is also a good learning site.

Furthermore I advise reading - Loading... -
ITs freee (they sell starter kits too)

There are loads of good books available for electronics. My personal favourite, and one that is regularly reconmended, is "Basic electronics". It does start off basic, but will leave you with a clear concept of electronics as a whole. It covers What is an electron, basic circuits, transistors, diodes, resistors, capacitors, inductors, analogue circuits, digital circuits, and all in great detail.