Read the outgoing serial data to an IR camera

Hi,

I have an infrared (IR) camera which can be operated serially. It comes with a GUI which provides various buttons to zoom in, zoom out, control brightness and contrast, display overlay etc. The protocol consists of a total 77 bytes, out of which I am concerned only with a few bits regarding zoom in and zoom out.

My question is if there is any way I can read the data that is sent on the serial port (connected to the IR camera) whenever I press a particular button (e.g. zoom in) on that GUI? I need to see that data because I need to control that camera without using that GUI (for example using MATLAB or arduino). I tried using hyper terminal but I guess only one software can connect to the COM port at one time, either hyper terminal or that GUI.

Sorry if the question is too trivial.

Thanks.

Hey!

I'm no expert(not even close :slight_smile: ), but i think you can use processing to check serial data being exchanged between the GUI and Camera.to achieve that you have to use a serial monitor to see the serial data being exchanged and and then use the same serial data to manipulate your camera.

Btw i don't think you need sophisticated software....

gd luck!

You need to give us details of how the camera is connected to your PC.

If the camera appears to the PC as a serial device it should be possible to write a program in (say) Python to recieve the data and display it.

I presume, at this stage, you are just trying to figure out the data so you can later program an Arduino to send it ?

...R

Robin2:
You need to give us details of how the camera is connected to your PC.

If the camera appears to the PC as a serial device it should be possible to write a program in (say) Python to recieve the data and display it.

I presume, at this stage, you are just trying to figure out the data so you can later program an Arduino to send it ?

...R