"Tools > Serial Port" greyed-out...

Hi,

I'm new to all this physical computing fun, so this might be a simple question.

I have a Freeduino SB board from Solarbotics, which is basically a copy of the Arduino Diecimila. I am running Ubuntu 8.10 (Intrepid). I have Sun Java 6 installed and am using the 0012 alpha version of the Arduino software.

I have assembled the board and when I plug the USB cable into it, and turn it on, the power LED is illuminated and the blue LED on pin 13 flashes once per second. I assume that this means that a) the board is working and b) the Freeduino people have pre-loaded the micro-controller with the beep program in the examples. However, nothing is registered in dmesg or lsusb.

The Tools > Serial Port menu is grayed-out and the port is set to COM1, which fails every time (since I have no serial ports on my laptop). So I guess I have two questions:

1. How can I get access to the Serial Port menu?
  2. Why isn't the board registered by the USB port?

Any help will be appreciated, as I'm totally stuck at the moment.

Cheers,
Kevin

You need to access the Arduino via the FTDI chip's drivers, which you may need to install. I think there's another thread here with some info (near the end): http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1230895424/0

Anyway, you should get a TTY device node in /dev, something like /dev/ttyUSB0 if it's set up anything like Slackware (which works for me, BTW).

You may need to edit the text file that contains the name of the serial port -- COM1 is definitely not right! Did you download a Linux version of Arduino 0012 or a Windows version?

You need to access the Arduino via the FTDI chip's drivers, which you may need to install. I think there's another thread here with some info (near the end): http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1230895424/0