[SOLVED]Difference between INPUT_PULLUP and an external pull down resistor?

Hello,

I am new to Arduino, and electronics in general. I was wondering what the difference between using the Arduino's built in 20K resistor using INPUT_PULLUP, and an external pull down resistor is, other then the logic being reversed where for example with a button HIGH means it is not pressed, and LOW means it is? When would I use one over the other?

Thanks

The main reason to use an external pulldown (or external pullup) instead of the internal pullup would be to match some requirements for the external device that you are connecting. A pushbutton switch, for example, is ether fully open or fully closed, and can have its other side connected to either ground or +V, so there is little reason to use an external resistor. Some sensors or other external devices will have more limited choices. A typical example would be I2C (twi) devices; the I2C protocol specifies an external pullup in a typical range of 1k to 10k ohms, so the internal pullup is not ideal. TTL logic devices are famous for having a "standard" pullup value of 2.2k, because their inputs actually consume some current.
A requirement for a pulldown is actually rather uncommon, except that it allows switches to match "expectations" that HIGH means "On"...

If you needed a pull-up, the internal pull-ups are handy - if you need either a pull-up or a pull-down, you would naturally go for pull-up and use the internal ones if you wanted to avoid installing extra resistors.

The internal pull-ups are very weak (datasheet says 20k to 50k - typically this is too high for a high-noise environment (lots of motors, automotive, factory...). An external pull up or pull-down would then be used - could be as low as 1k or so. Normally this is not an issue though.