LED Controller, new to this.

Hey, im new to all of this so please bare with me! Got a couple of questions but I will first explain what I want to do.

Basically I will use 4 of the pins to output power, and RGB values to a maximum of 3 LED strips, about 30-40 LED's.

I will then have a an input, which is a rotary switch, this of course will change the hue, and it also has momentary push inputs, but of course all of the is down to the program.

My main question is how do I go about powering the Arduino Nano, and the LED strips using a 12V input from a motorbike battery, without busting anything.

About connecting the leds, please use Google. Pages and pages full about it.

12V is fine for the Vin of an Arduino if it doesn't need to provide real power (which it doesn't seem to do here) But the 12V from a vehicle isn't really 12V. When it's running it's getting close to 15V. It can also be very noisy. So I would get a DCDC buck converter, set it to around 8V, add a +-220uf and a 100nF cap to that and connect it to the Vin of the Nano.

Or the real easy solution. Get a (decent) USB car charger, plug it in and connect the USB of the Arduino to it.

Basically I will use 4 of the pins to output power, and RGB values to a maximum of 3 LED strips, about 30-40 LED's.

Arduino pins do not output "power". They can only output a small current at 5V. They can power a single small led, but not much more. They are meant to control, not to power. So you will need some transistors. These can be used to boost the current and voltage to be enough for your strips. We can recommend a type of transistor once we know more about your project.

You mention using 4 pins for 3 RGB led strips. But there are several types of RGB strip. Some need 12V, some need 5V. Some allow control of individual LEDs in the strip. Some allow control of groups of 3 leds. Some only allow control of the strip as a whole. Some need transistors to drive them.