geophysics

building a magnetometer and earth restiance measuring system, ok with building the hard ware and the electronics upto the arduino just wondering if any body would like to collaberate, offer advice as I know almost nothing about where to start.

When you need answers to more specific questions, ask away. I am sure that there will be plenty of help. For starters please supply requirements in terms of specific hardware you will use. Like Arduino board and sensors that you want to use.

Hello, I am a physicist and one of my hobbies is electronics and programming. I would be willing to look over a block diagram and examine the goals to see if I can offer arduino programming assistance.

I have a real interest in geophysics and would be interested in your resistivity hardware design, I have a reasonable amount of Arduino and software development experience to contribute. Where do you want to start?

What role with the arduino play in this project?

Sorry about delay had to create a new account. now woodbob
magnetometer starting from speake sensor site using 2 sensors and there mag chip output is +- 2.5 v dc hoping to measure this and save in a format suitable for the snuffler programme.
ERM. at present using a project from an old issue of EPE magazine to generate square wave and receive signal again output is a dc voltage.
If gps is suitable hope to add at a later date.
2nd ERM will have 26 probes set at 1 meter intervals measurments taken at 1mtr 2 mtr 3 mtr 4mtr spacing, this will give depth slices hopefully.
So basically to start all I need is to read and save a dc voltage
BUT always one I have no experiance in programming or computing . Able to build hardware and construct. Based in South East Wales. Bob

output is +- 2.5 v dc hoping to measure this and save in a format suitable for the snuffler programme.

Not without some signal conditioning. The Arduino can not handle negative voltages.