Library for LM335A Temperature Sensor

Here's a class I wrote for use with the LM335A temperature sensor. I think the class makes it easy read temperatures without needing to do more than tell the software what pin to use, when to read the temperature, and what units are desired.

LM335A Libraryhttp://greenrobotics.net/files/LM335A.zip

I'm new to the Arduino and really enjoy the community of creators and what they have done with their Arduinos. Many thanks to all the folks that discussed the LM335A, especially Jonathan Smith on how to hook it up properly, and convert the temperature. Thanks to David A. Mellis for writing the tutorial "Writing a Library for Arduino".

Here is the sample program. I look forward to any feedback.

// Example using the LM335A library for reading temperatures
// Created by Jonathan Merrill, February 20, 2010.
// http://www.greenrobotics.net
//  Released into the public domain.

#include <LM335A.h>

LM335A InsideTemp(0); //pass the analog input pin number
void setup() {
Serial.begin(57600);
Serial.println("starting");

}

void loop() {
  delay(3000);
  //user must call ReadTemp before any valid temp data is available
  InsideTemp.ReadTemp();  
  Serial.print("Fahrenheit: ");
  //functions to get the temperature in various unitsfs
  Serial.println(InsideTemp.Fahrenheit());
  Serial.print("Celsius: ");
  Serial.println(InsideTemp.Celsius());
  Serial.print("Kelvin: ");
  Serial.println(InsideTemp.Kelvin());

}

Good work Green - I'm at work so have not downloaded and looked at the files - I'll do that when I get home.

Is your "Class" (is this handled same as library?) written for a specific wiring schematic? OR the way the basic sensor is wired?

You use Serial.print() in your example, does it work with lcd.print() also?

Will it work for any temperature sensor with 10mV/ºK?

I'll be looking forward to playing with it some.

Ken H.

Hello!

Great work. Warms my heart to see those const in there!